A good first visit is the Planning Portal website which covers England and Wales.

Leicestershire County Council don’t generally deal with residential planning, more the likes of schools, roads, waste facilities and mineral extraction. This leaves the city and seven district councils as the key decision makers in their respective areas:

Leicester city  – Environment and planning

Blaby – Planning and building

Charnwood – Environment and planning

Harborough – Planning

Hinckley and Bosworth – Planning and building control

Melton – Environment and planning

North West Leicestershire – Environment and planning

Oadby and Wigston – Environment and planning

(Not sure which area you are in? Use the postcode search on which will find your local councillor)


For current developments, see our earlier post on local plans and strategies across the different authority areas.


One thought on “Planning

  1. Pingback: Big site update! | L.E.S.S.B.I.G

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s